About Health

The district health system has been envisaged as per the norms set up by the state to achieve the objectives of primary health care, which comprises of preventive, curative and promotive health. The Health system based upon the modern medical care has a wide network of health institutions starting from Sub-Centre level to tertiary level of health care institutions. The network of the health system is such that ideally it can provide health care services at the doorsteps of the common people if properly planned and managed.

Zilla Swasthya Samiti (ZSS) under the Co-Chairpersonship of the Collector oversees the management and development of health wing and implementation of the National Health Programmes. There is one District Head Quarter Hospital (DHH), Koraput, One Sub-Divisional Hospital at Jeypore, 16 nos. of Community Health Centres (CHCs), 48 Primary Health Centres, 02 Project Hospitals (Kolab, Koraput & Onkadeli, Lamtaput), 04 other Hospitals, 02 Public Sector Hospital (HAL, Sunabeda & NALCO, Damanjodi), 01 Private Hospital (ASHA Kiran, Lamtaput) and 307 Sub-Health Centres to cater health care need of the people.


DR. LALIT MOHAN RATH, Chief District Medial & Public Health Officer, KORAPUT
At-District Circle Jail, Koraput.
Mobile No. : 9439990495
Landline / Fax: 06852-250242
Email ID: /