Arts and Crafts
Nature and Wild Life
Fairs and Festivals
Culture,Folk Songs and Dances
Places Of Tourist Interest
Travel related Information
Assembly Costituencies
Municipalities,NAC and Towns
National Horticulture Mission Websitehttp://www.nhm.nic.in

Plan 2008-2009       Vision

Hon’ble Prime Minister of India announced on 26th January, 2005 the implementation of National Horticulture Mission (NHM) in the country, which will enable crop diversification, increased return per unit of land, better employment opportunity, excellent prospect for export in Horticulture sector that would provide growth for rural economy, food and nutritional security.

Accordingly, NHM has been implemented in the form of Orissa Horticulture Development Society (OHDS), is registered under Society registration Act, 1860 and launched during July, 2005.

The duration of the scheme will be for 7 years.

The society is governed by a General Body, consisting of all 24 members of the society wherein Minister Agriculture, Govt.of Orissa is the Chairman and Director of Horticulture is the Secretary. For execution of the programme, there is an Executive Committee, consisting of 12 members wherein Chief Secretary is the Chairman and Director of Horticulture is the Secretary.

Every month the progress is reviewed by the Project Management Committee consisting of 5 members, on behalf of Executive Committee, wherein Agriculture Production Commissioner is the Chairman and Director of Horticulture is the Secretary.

For suggesting technical proposals there is a Technical Support Group, consisting of 7 members wherein Director of Horticulture is the Chairman and joint Director of Horticulture is the convener.

In the District level the Mission programmes are executed and reviewed by the District Mission Committee (DMC), consisting of 10 members, wherein Collector of the district is the Chairman and Deputy Director of Horticulture is the Member Secretary-cum-Convener.